Scenes of Alampoondi

Alampoondi Alampoondi

Alampoondi Alampoondi

Alampoondi Alampoondi

Alampoondi Alampoondi Alampoondi

Alampoondi Alampoondi

46 Responses to “Scenes of Alampoondi”


  1. 1 Venkatesan.D 24 June 2007 at 10:20 pm

    Hi,
    Nice to pictures of my native place & people I know very well.
    Nice pictures.

    Thank you.
    Regards,
    Venkateasn,(presently at New Delhi)
    1/98,Agraharam street,
    Alampoondi

  2. 4 Lorenzo 16 January 2008 at 2:26 pm

    By im Lorenzo ….one of the foundator of Eco art centre in alampoondi…
    I really happy to see this photo because alampoondi for me is like second house.
    So compliment to you that you put this photo in this page..
    thanks
    Lorenzo Anna

  3. 5 hema 23 June 2008 at 11:47 pm

    I am a handicraft designer working with rural producer groups and GRRC is one of my favourite organizations. Brother Shanti and Kumar are such inspiring individuals that my visits to Alampoondi leave me recharged. I am me very happy to see the lovely pictures and read your impressions and hear other friends of GRRC.

    Thanks for the information that they have a website now.

    Hema

    • 6 sachu 16 November 2009 at 10:21 am

      Hi Hema
      I too have heard a lot about this village. I heard that the herbal medicines given by Brother shanti and group is very good and has cured many sinusites patients, allergies. Is there a contact number for this organisation that i can reach out. Please send me the number if you have.

      Sachu

  4. 7 Krshnamurthi Venkatesan 17 January 2009 at 7:34 am

    Very nice pictures. I could identify some of the photos. This brings my child hood days spent in this village. Sweet memories and let me view periodically for update. I wish to publish the photos of traditional temples especially Vinayagar Koil at agraharam and Siva temple built recently for the benefit of viwers. I thank Mr.Shanthi and team for exteding their services towards developement of this village.

    Regards,

    K Venkatesan
    S/O Aswathanarayana Krishnamurthy
    Agraharam Street
    Alampoondi Village & PO
    Gingee Taluk, Villupuram District
    Pin 604151

  5. 8 Ravi 24 January 2009 at 7:18 am

    Just returned from the inagural rituals of the new Shiva temple At Alampoondi(native place of my grand father,late Sampoorna sastriar).
    Must admit that the place has a mesmerising effect on me, since this is my very first vist to the village.

    It goes without saying that I enjoyed myself throughly when I was there.Look forward to taking my children and wife along the next time around.

    A.N.Ravi
    s/o late A.S.Nagarajan.

    • 9 V.Dhandapany 16 May 2012 at 5:23 am

      dear Mr.Ravi, If you visit the Siva Temple now, you will feel very happy and elated as we have erected Compound all around, installed Sri Anjaneya, Sri Kaali, and presently we are erecting a Kalyana Mandapam in front of A/M.Mangalaambigai Sannathi for the benefit of devotees to celebrate marriages, etc. Also we are raising funds for all these activities. You may contact me on 09840073718 for more info. V.Dhandapany.

  6. 10 Vijayakumar.R 16 June 2009 at 3:55 am

    Very nice pictures. I could identify some of the photos. This brings my child hood days spent in this village. Sweet memories and let me view periodically for update. I wish to publish the photos of traditional temples especially. thanks god

    R.Vijayakumar
    Mel arungunam Village
    Thenpalai post
    Gingee T.K
    Villupuram Dt.
    Ph. 9940996151.

  7. 11 R.Selxaraj. 21 July 2009 at 5:04 am

    hi i am studied from LKG to 10th std in alampoondi.my native place is perungapoor.i am studied in st joseph’s matriculation school.

    now iam studying B.TECH in chennai.

  8. 14 prabhakaramurthy 2 August 2009 at 4:05 am

    please up load the photos of the renevated siva temple

  9. 15 prabhakaramurthy 2 August 2009 at 4:09 am

    I request all those who have their roots in alampoondi, to publish their postal address / tele nos

  10. 16 A,S,NATARAJAN 25 August 2009 at 11:34 pm

    can i know some details about you

    • 17 Prabhakaramurthi 5 January 2010 at 6:57 am

      Prabhakaramurthi ( Nena ) grandson of late Alampoondi.Sampoorna sastriyar ( Sampoorna sastriyar silk cloth shop, mylapore )

      • 18 K.V. Chandrasekar 18 December 2016 at 4:43 am

        RC sekar was related to Shri Sampoorna sastriyar. I was his classmate in MEA school in Delhi till 1969. Last information I had was that he is Canada.

        If have information please let me know.

        K.V. Chandrasekar

  11. 19 mbjesq 26 August 2009 at 8:53 am

    Natarajan:

    I have written more than 300 essays on this blog and offered god-knows-how-many replies to those leaving comments. I’d say you have details a-plenty about me available at the click of a mouse.

    Best,

    MBJ

  12. 20 R PARTHASARATHY 28 September 2009 at 9:42 pm

    Very nice pictures.:) I could identify all the photos.i miss my neative:(

    Regards,
    Parthasarathy R,(presently at Chennai),
    s/o S Ramamoorthi,
    1/97,Agraharam street,
    Alampoondi

  13. 21 s.murali 12 August 2010 at 6:09 am

    at present i am working as an associate professor in madurai. My wife hails from aalampoondi. My father in law name is venkataraman iyer. I have five brother in laws whose name are mentioned below.v.santhanam, v.janaki raman, v.vaidyanathan,v.nagarajan, v.krishnamoorthy

    • 22 Velu. k 11 November 2010 at 7:42 am

      hi, My name is Velu, S/o Kannan living in Bangalore since 1994
      i am born and broughtup in Alampoondi Agrahara Street, now the
      village improved a lot

      My mobile no. 09845972950

  14. 23 Babu 10 January 2011 at 2:32 am

    Hi! I am Babu, S/o. G.Subramanian from Nadupattu Village. Nice to see the photographs of our village. I have studied in St.Joseph School, Alampoondi upto Std. V and at St.Michael’s Gingee upto Std. X. If any one remember me, please call 9884475296

    – Babu Subramanian,
    Chennai

  15. 25 Guru 10 January 2011 at 9:06 pm

    Hai ALl,

    Myself Guru from V.Nayambadi village nearby alampoodi hope everebody knows tat village.About alampoondi i did my schollings in St.Joseph and moved to Raja desingh school upto 5th STD i was in alampoondi.After tat i moved to chennai and i did my remaing part of my schooling and completed by BE.As of now i’m working as Network Engg.

    About alampoondi its my itegral part of my early days,its feels great to to bring back those moments in my life.

  16. 26 G.Saravanan 19 August 2011 at 7:59 am

    Hi i am G.Saravanan i studied in Nayambadi upto 8th std, At Alampoondi School upto 10th, At Kilpennathur upto +2 Awesome photographs remembering my childhood days If anyone remember me i am ready to be hands with them who belongs to nadupattu

  17. 27 j.Alexander, m.a,b.ed. Kadaladi 2 November 2011 at 9:12 pm

    hi, this is alex. I am pleased to all yr pictures because very few places are as favourite as alampoondi for me. upload more photos like this. Thank u.

    • 28 RAJAVEL 9 December 2011 at 10:14 pm

      hi iam A.Rajavel M.Sc,D.M.L.T., i mis our native related area Alampoondi i seen the all the photos.
      my native is Thurampoondi.
      presently i’m in NAVI MUMBAI…..

  18. 29 Sangeetha 27 January 2012 at 9:15 am

    Hai I am Sangeetha.
    In Alampoondi i like that Vijayanaga Temple near the Asan Kuttai Pond very much and the surroundings are very nice.

    Sangeetha Perumal
    C/O, R.Krishna Pillai,
    Agrahara Street,
    Alampoondi

  19. 30 parameshwari 3 February 2012 at 8:18 pm

    hi
    i studied in St.Joseph school in alampoondi.
    i love to come to this place and i like that siva temple a lot.

    Parameshwari Thiruvengadam
    C/O, R.Krishna Pillai,
    Agrahara Street,
    Alampoondi

  20. 32 Selvaraj R 14 February 2012 at 12:50 am

    Hi, I m Selvaraj, from Perungapoor ,I did my schoolings from LKG to X th std in St.Josephs Matriculation School. I m 2006 Passed out in X th std.
    After I continue my study in St.Anns Hr School ion Tindivanam, 2008 passed out from XII th, after I continue my career as B.TECH-IT in Tagore Engineering College in Chennai. 2012 passed out. I enjoy my schoolings in Alampoondi. I like my school and environment of almpoondi.

    with Regards
    Selvaraj R S/O.Ramasamy,
    1/106,Vinayagar kovil street,
    Perungapoor &post,gingee T.K,
    villupuram. 604151

    • 33 Vimal Kumar 18 April 2012 at 7:16 am

      hi dude 2 id u have ah by vimal from perungapoor 8807394454

    • 34 murali sanker 10 March 2013 at 2:12 pm

      ALLAPOONDI is situated at 10 Km from Gengee on the main road to Thiruvannamalai. it now comes under gengee district after bifurcation of villupuram .my forefathers belong to that village. i had great feeling when ever i visited the village. i felt so homely. i even spent some time in the house where once my grand father lived. we have performed pooja and abhishegam at the ganapathy temple, dhroupathy amman temple.

      i am so happy tto notice so many people longing to get in touch with each other.i know one Mr. Krishnamoorthy, who live in Alwarthirunagar, chennai., who is my cousin chitappa and i am proud and privilaged to have met him. .i have also heard that one belonging to allampoondi has a silk shop in north mada street, mylapore tank and i could not recollect his name. My mother had spoken to him and his children.

      my email ID is sanker_india@yahoo.com.i wish and pray that we all can meet. and get touch with each other. let us not miss this oppertunity.
      thanks for the person who has taken this initiative. god bless him

      with lot of love to you all

      murali sanker

      • 35 murali sanker 10 March 2013 at 2:36 pm

        the person who ran a silk shop is sampoorna sastrigal. and my mother used to talk to him to find out the KOOLA DEIVAM ( Family Deity) as we are all confusedand still are. if any one who know the family deity for family belonging to GARGEYA GOTHRAM may kindly enquire from your elders and advice me. i will remain eber grateful to them

        thank you

        murali sanker

  21. 36 Tamil 13 March 2012 at 3:30 am

    My village very beautiful

  22. 37 subramania iyer 17 April 2012 at 3:01 pm

    When I was young I used to go to Alampoondi(from Tiruvannamalai)
    to meet my aunt Mrs. Cellammal, her husband a school teacher and her children Nagarajan, Dhandapani.
    Sarasa and others. It is a loving memory and really I like the village.
    Now I am a Canadian citizen.
    V.Subramanian
    Toronto Canada

    • 38 V.Dhandapany 16 May 2012 at 5:09 am

      Dear Subramanian,
      I am Dhandapany! How nice I could locate you through this page. Let us establish contacts renewal. My contact No. is 09840073718. email: dhandapanyld@yahoo.co.in. Let me have details of you and your family. Any chance we meet in near future?!?

      • 39 parasuram 22 May 2012 at 3:55 am

        I studied All Above frnds Comments about Alampoondi.Really That place is So beauty & Good atmosphere.
        By parasuram

      • 40 murali sanker 10 March 2013 at 2:21 pm

        the gentleman who took care of the temple and tne nithya pooja is also named Dhandapani and i had spoken to him from chennai on many occassion for pooja and abhishegam are you the same person.

        murali sanker

  23. 41 sujatha 23 May 2012 at 3:03 am

    super good plance in alampoondi. especially at sivankvoil super

  24. 42 Prabhakaramurthi 19 June 2012 at 8:41 am

    please up load the latest photographs of the temple

  25. 43 vaibhavmurthi 19 June 2012 at 8:45 am

    Dhandapany, please arrange to upload the latest photographs of our temple

  26. 44 vaibhavmurthi 19 June 2012 at 8:47 am

    I request all those who have their roots in alampoondi, to publish their postal address / tele nos / mobile number / e mail id , which would enable us to get re united and closer

  27. 46 iqbal 2 May 2015 at 4:22 am

    hi i am iqbal.i am study to govt,hr.sec school alampoondi. all our native place is best for every one the same my native alampoondi is very very nice place.


Leave a comment




Blasts from the Past

... because the idiocy of manliness is an evergreen topic.

.

... because Canada and the US will celebrate their Thanksgiving holidays and, regrettably and preventably, not 1-cook-in-10 will serve a decent turkey.

.

... because everyday is Mother's Day.

.

... because the American Dream seems but a distant memory, given the country's dominant ethos of small-mindedness.

.

... to remind us that not every mix of Tibetans and Western spiritual seekers has to be nauseating.

.

... to celebrate the new edition of Infinite Vision published in India.

.

... reprised because military strategy seems more cruel and less effective than ever -- and certainly there is a better way.

.

... because cars are ruining Pondicherry, where I live. How badly are they fucking up your Indian town?

.

... reprinted because more-and-more people seem want to understand the gift economy. (Yeah!)

Join the Banter!

At its most fun, memestream is a dialogue -- or, better, a cacophony -- rather than a library of overwrought essays reflecting a single point of view. For that, we need your two cents!

If you read anything on memestream that provokes an interesting thought, an emotion, a laugh, violent disagreement, passionate agreement, an anecdote, an uncontrollable non sequitur... be sure to leave a comment.

It will be no surprise to anyone who follows this blog that "all the best stuff" resides in the readers' comments. So don't stop reading when you hit the end of the essays. And add your voice to the discussion!

Enter your email address to follow memestream and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other subscribers

Blog Stats

  • 379,250 hits